The Roaring Silence

For many people, the most convincing evidence of Roger Clemen’s guilt is not what is contained in The Mitchell Report, but his failure to immediately express personal outrage and deny the allegations.  Particularly considering he was aware of at least the strong possibility he would be included in the report, it is inexplicable that he did not schedule a press conference that afternoon and vent his outrage at being falsely accused.  We all know how angry Clemens can get.  This is the man that got thrown out of a critical playoff game for rampaging on an umpire for an unfavorable strikezone.  Are you telling me he felt any less unjustifiably treated by The Mitchell Report?

Moral outrage at false accusation is such an ubiquitous human reaction the particularly guileful attempt to leverage it to their advantage.  Consider Bill Clinton wagging his finger and decrying “I did not have sexual relations with that woman”.  Or, closer to home, Raphael Palmiero’s finger pointing denial of steroid use in front of Congress.

I notice the Clemens public relations firm even recognizes the severity of the problem his lack of an immediate, forceful denial has caused in the battle for public opinion.  The latest headlines read Clemens was just “numb” over the Mitchell Report.  I doubt it will work.  Once that moment is gone, it can never be recaptured.  Like innocence lost.

Speaking of, you might notice that my good friend “J.W.” has yet to respond to my calling him out as a fraud.  Oh, J.W. has read it.  A couple of times.  My site access logs reveal that fact.  So why hasn’t he defended his reputation with the same fervor he defended censorship by MLBlogs?  Like Clemens he’ll make a fool of himself over balls and strikes but not honor?  I know personally I would rampage on someone if I spent an hour of my time to engage in the dialog on their site and they called me a fraud:  “Are you off your meds?  I am not affiliated with MLB in any way.  You’re paranoid, man.  Get some help.”

But then, I sign my name.

I’m sure J.W. is trying to come up with a plausible explanation.  The problem is, it is too late.  The moment for moral outrage at being falsely accused has passed, a couple of times now.  I interpret that as evidence of what is called in the legal profession “consciousness of guilt”.

— Michael Norton

8 comments

  1. PAUL

    It must be cool to be able to write those complicated computer programs to find out who’s checking your blog. I’m afflicted with paralysis by analysis; my fiancee is about to start work on her dissertation in English philology and tries to explain the formation of words and stuff, but when I start to think about gerunds, nouns, verbs, dangling participles, etc, my brain short circuits. I can only do it without thinking about it. Like Rain Man.
    http://paullebowitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. SomeBallyard

    But you do it SO well, Paul! 8)

    I know what you mean. I’ve found the only way I can study grammar without completely messing up my writing is by studying foreign languages.

  3. SomeBallyard

    BTW, I am ashamed to say I didn’t write the ridiculously simple program that logs visits to the blog. I use a service called Site Meter:

    http://www.sitemeter.com/

    For eighty bucks a year it isn’t really worth my time to do the same thing.

  4. Tracy

    I think at the very least no matter what happens it does the same thing for Clemens as it’s done to Bonds – while there will be some strong opinions regarding his innocence or guilt, he will largely become irrelevant to most fans who are tired of hearing about it and tired of seeing selfish players and a selfish league sweep everything under the rug for so long. I have to say that I have a hard time believing that the accusations are only half true – that Pettitte can on the one hand confirm the story but then turn around and call the trainer a liar where Clemens is concerned.

    I also have a problem with the way Clemens is handling the whole thing – with statements through agents and lawyers and in taped videos and TV interviews. It makes him look a little…chicken, something no one would have dared say about Roger Clemens when he was on the mound throwing a 98 mph fastball at your head. A press conference with an angry Roger Clemens would have gone a long way to advance his argument in my mind. He does not play the stunned, numb martyr in the YouTube video well.

  5. jennifer.park82@googlemail.com

    Thank you for sharing this information. The information was very helpful and saved a lot of my time.

    Dissertation Writing | Dissertation Proposal

  6. janicemartin2010@gmail.com

    hmm.. 🙂 thanks for sharing information for this Browser i really impressed and want some more stuffs again for this post.
    writing research paper
    Writing a dissertation

Leave a Reply

