OU Beats Texas

Went to our favorite watering hole with my son and his grandfather, who is visiting from Oklahoma, to watch the Sooners overcome the Longhorns in the annual Red River Rivalry.  I’ve been witness to over thirty of these brawls–Chris’ grandfather has probably seen more than fifty.  Sooners don’t miss the Texas game.  I would be willing to wager there aren’t may weddings on the day the two teams hook it up.  Even if the bride and groom aren’t fans, the odds are someone in the wedding party would be, and there’s no question where their loyalties would lie.

I can imagine a Republican and Democrat living under the same roof.  James Carville and Mary Matlin apparently make it work.  I can imagine a Yankee and a Red Sox fan.  ****, I can imagine a Palestinian and a ***.  I can’t imagine a Sooner and a Longhorn.  When the game was over I attempted to convey my respects and condolences to a young woman, a Texas fan, at the next table.  From the look she gave me I think she would have cut my heart out if we hadn’t gotten out of there quickly.  I don’t blame her.  I understand.

Sam Bradford continues to be the most impressive young quarterback I’ve seen since John Elway was at Stanford (and beat OU).  Not only does he have the most exquisitely accurate arm I’ve ever seen, he seemed completely unfazed in his first shootout with Texas.  There aren’t many players who aren’t dumbstruck on the field of the Cotton Bowl that first time.  The Sooners may have lost a national championship to Colorado last week, but with this kid at quarterback I think they know they are going to have a couple of more shots.

But if you understand Oklahoma football, even more important than a national title is not losing to Texas.

–Michael Norton 

One comment

Leave a comment