Not Your Daddy’s Red Sox

Remember then Red Sox Pedro Martinez infamous comment:  “I just tip my hat and call the Yankees my daddy”? The student is now the master, as they say.  The Red Sox not only took the division from the vaunted Yankees, they now are the Yankees.

You hear that sound?  That’s a million died in the wool Red Sox fans from the golden age of baseball rolling over in their graves.  Yet its true.  The Red Sox are no longer David slaying Goliath, or even Don Quixote tilting at windmills.  They are corporate baseball. They have become what they overcame.

What amazes me is the Red Sox standard bearers aren’t lamenting what has been lost.  This new generation has become disconnected from the real tradition that is, was the Boston Red Sox.  They have bought into the commercialized “nation”.  They have decided the drunkenness of victory is preferable to the nobleness of the struggle.

I’m glad I finally got to visit Fenway this year.  The spirit is departing.

— Michael Norton

8 comments

  1. carl444@comcast.net

    That was a great piece of writing! I’m a
    red-socks season ticket holder. I sit 144 seats away from Steven King (or something like that)

  2. SomeBallyard

    Thanks, Carl. Do you ever long for the old days? When nobody even really knew Steven King was a Red Sox fan?

  3. Matt

    “I’m glad I finally got to visit Fenway this year. The spirit is departing.”

    As I just returned from Boston where, among other things, we took a rather antiseptic tour of Fenway and later hung out on Landsdowne St during the ALCS, your last line gave me a little chill.

    Boston is full of spirits, but in the place I most expected them, Fenway Park, there were none.

    –Nice to see you writing again 🙂

Leave a comment